Blog Tour: Rise by Jennifer Anne Davis – ARC Review + Giveaway

Posted May 24, 2016 by Sophia
0 Comments

Blog Tour: Rise by Jennifer Anne Davis - ARC Review + Giveaway

Blog Tour: Rise by Jennifer Anne Davis – ARC Review + GiveawayRise by Jennifer Anne Davis
Order of the Krigers #1
Other Books: Cage of Deceit, Cage of Darkness, Cage of Destiny
Published by Month9Books on May 17, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher

The people of Nelebek live in fear of persecution from Morlet, who reigns with a dark and destructive magic. The kingdom’s only hope lies with the Order of the Krigers—twelve warriors with mysterious powers linked to magical weapons. For over a century, Morlet has been annihilating the Order. Eleven Krigers have been hunted down, tortured, and imprisoned in the dungeon. Now, only one remains.

Sixteen-year-old Kaia survives by keeping her head down and minding her own business. One day, she finds herself in the middle of a public execution where the mysterious Morlet is in attendance. Feeling an odd compulsion she can’t resist, Kaia looks into his eyes.

Fans of GRACELING and THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS will enjoy RISE, book one in the RISE OF THE KRIGERS series from international bestselling author Jennifer Anne Davis.

The author/publisher provided a free copy of the book for review purposes - thank you! Receiving a review copy does not guarantee a positive review and therefore do not affect the opinion or content of the review.

Well, now that school’s over, time to get back into the swing of things… I think. But really, I’d like to apologize to anyone and anybody I’ve bothered because of the lack of motivation over here (the slump is real and it’s horrible, and I think 2.5 years of “consistent” blogging is finally catching up and smacking me upside the head).

Moving on, but fair warning: this review might be short.

I feel like Rise falls a little short – but I really can’t do much comparing aside literally one book (Cage of Deceit). The first book in the Order of the Krigers series starts off a little slow and draggy – lots of preparing for Kaia to step into the role of a Kriger, so there is plenty of walking, talking, and training going on for awhile. But despite the feel of slowness and dragginess, I actually found a lot of the talking really interesting, because the world Jennifer Anne Davis builds in her newest series is just intriguing to learn about. It also helps that Kaia has this interest of learning as much as she can about the Krigers.

But anyways, while Rise felt like a slow start to the series, I don’t think Jennifer Anne Davis will fail to deliver in future books. In fact… I think the slowness of the first book will be well worth it.

Author Bio

Jennifer Anne Davis is the award-winning author of the bestselling TRUE REIGN series. After graduating from the University of San Diego with a degree in English and a teaching credential, she married her high school sweetheart. Jennifer is currently a full-time writer and mother of three highly energetic children. Her days are spent living in imaginary worlds and fueling her own kids’ creativity.

Giveaway

  • Five Digital Copies of Rise (INT)
  • One Scrabble Tile Book Cover Charm (US)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sophia is a socially awkward Communications major who has a GIF for nearly everything and is frequently in a Hogwarts House Crisis. More of her bookish reviews can be found at The Arts STL.

Categories: Books
Tags: , , , , ,


Want to be a bookwyrm and get all the bookish posts when it goes live?

Leave a Reply

Fellow bloggers? Share your latest content with other bookwyrms by entering your URL and clicking the button below