The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas | Heist, found family, space

Posted August 7, 2020 by Sophia
9 Comments

The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas | Heist, found family, space

Ages since the last time I posted? No. Maybe that was just pure timing. Ages until the next post? Ah, well, that’s another story entirely. We’ll have to see about that one.

(Not gonna lie, I miss blogging and having more time on my hands to write fun posts. But one day! It will happen! Until then, I’m going to try and catch whatever sleep and reading time I can. Also, I just noticed I’ve slacked with post titles lately when it comes to reviews. Oops.)

This post contains affiliate links, which means if you make a purchase using that link, a small commission is made from the sale. There are no additional costs to you. Thank you for your support!

Content and Trigger Warning: This book may be unsuitable for some due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence. There may also be content that could be triggering to some, which we will try our best to provide below the synopsis in reviews written after May 12, 2020.
The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas | Heist, found family, spaceThe Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas
Published by Swoon Reads on August 4, 2020
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Format: ARC, eBook
Source: Publisher


They're only good at being bad.

Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she's a total disaster.

After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He'll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family's good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize.

But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they're also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it's definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly.


The author/publisher provided a free copy of the book for review purposes - thank you! Receiving a review copy does not guarantee a positive review and therefore do not affect the opinion or content of the review.

Trigger Warnings: abuse (parent), violence

This is such a delightful and fun read set in space.

The Good for Nothings is packed with snark and sass set in space that I ended up enjoying way more than I thought I would. When Cora lands herself in prison after a heist with good intentions (and to prove to her family she can fit in) goes wrong, she’s given a chance at freedom and a clean record if she, along with her new cell companions, find a legendary treasure giving immortality that is only rumored to exist.

But Cora accepts the chance to be free, and especially at a chance to give her robot best friend Elio, a body that won’t glitch. (And if you want my opinion, I’d do the same in Cora’s shoes, because Elio is charming as hell.)

The characters are lovable and adorable.

You might not like them at first, but by the end of reading Banas’ book, you’ll probably want to be friends with all of them. Here’s a run-down of our group of criminals in The Good for Nothings:

  • Anders – supposedly violent, but secretly warm and fuzzy who likes lollipops and meat
  • Cora – just trying her best and wanting to fit in her family to no avail (according to her mother, with the silent agreement from her father)
  • Elio – the cutest robot who glitches and beeps but also wants to be as human as possible like smelling milkshakes and food (good choice, not gonna lie)
  • Wren – overly chatty and probably rambles if you’re in the same room, which can be annoying, but secretly she’s a nice softie who’s good at stealing things when no one can notice

They all have good intentions and hearts, and it was fun seeing them develop a friendship and bond with each other as they uncover the clues to find the pieces that would lead them to the treasure. Personally, Anders was hard to warm up to at first because he’s just there when Cora first lands in Ironside prison on the planet of Andilly, but he grew on me quickly as the group set off on their adventure across multiple galaxies.

The Good for Nothings is, overall, a charming book perfect for who want a heist set in space with the found family trope among characters who probably wouldn’t be friends in other circumstances.

Sophia has a GIF for nearly everything and is frequently in a Hogwarts House crisis. Unlike her personality in blog posts, she's a socially awkward recent college grad who majored in Communications. More of her bookish reviews can be found at The Arts STL.

Categories: Books
Tags: , , , , ,


Want to be a bookwyrm and get all the bookish posts when it goes live?

Leave a Reply

9 responses to “The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas | Heist, found family, space